Best way to start a blog site with Hugo?

I would like to create a blog site using Hugo on Windows 10. I have Hugo installed and it seems to be working okay. I need a little advice on how to set everything up though, as I’m new to Hugo, markdown and running a blog site.

I do have experience with using HTML and CSS to create a website manually.

I would like to organise the site similar to this:-

example.com/index.html = home page
example.com/about.html = about page
example.com/contact.html = contact page
example.com/category1/index.html = list of posts in category1
example.com/category1/post1.html = 1st post in category1
example.com/category1/post2.html = 2nd post in category1
example.com/category1/index.html = list of posts in category2
example.com/category2/post1.html = 1st post in category2
example.com/category2/post2.html = 2nd post in category2

…and so on. Obviously those aren’t the actual category and post names, but hopefully you see what I have in mind.

On each post page, I would like the option of showing links to related posts that may or may not be in the same category. I’m not sure what options there are for that.

The terms “types”, “sections”, “categories” and “tags” in the documentation are confusing me a little. It seems that sections are intended for different types of content (i.e. posts vs images), rather than similar content on different subjects, unless I have that wrong. Categories and tags seem to be a way of differentiating content for index pages, but don’t seem to change where the content ends up on the finished site.

Can anyone offer advice or point me to some tutorials?

The best way is to just make a new site and start playing around with it.

Don’t worry about types right now, but sections are just a way of structuring your content files. Check out the quick start; in it you create a blog post, in the posts section. So all your posts go into that directory.