Attempting to use postcss, "Failed to transform [...] (text/css) unexpected identifier" error

Hello there I’m a student struggling with this hugo pipes error. I couldn’t find solutions in this forum.
I was scripting step by step in my Head partial. I have 2 sass files which I concatenate and then convert to css. Everything below works EXCEPT for the last line which returns the following error upon running the hugo command.

hugo v0.92.1-85E2E862+extended windows/amd64 BuildDate=2022-01-27T11:44:41Z VendorInfo=gohugoio
Error: Error building site: POSTCSS: failed to transform “css/global.css” (text/css): Unexpected identifier

Here is my use of pipes

{{- $cssOpts := (dict "targetpath" "css/global.css" "outputStyle" "compressed") -}}
{{- $postOpts := (dict "config" "./postcss.config.js" "targetpath" "css/global.min.css") -}}

{{- $boilerplate := resources.Get "sass/boilerplate.sass" -}}
{{- $template := resources.Get "sass/template.sass" -}}
{{- $globalsass := slice $boilerplate $template | resources.Concat "sass/global.sass" -}}
{{- $style := $globalsass | toCSS $cssOpts -}}
{{- $style = $style | postCSS $postOpts -}}

<link rel="stylesheet" href="{{ $style.Permalink }}"  type="text/css">

Where postcss.config.js simply contains:

const autoprefixer = require('autoprefixer');

module.exports = {
  plugins: [
    autoprefixer()
  ]
};

Some things I’ve tried:
While initially I had installed hugo-extended via chocolatey on windows and the relevant postcss postcss-cli autoprefixers packages via npm globally.
I encountered the exact same errors using the hugo-extended binary and installing these packages locally, with a configured package json that included devdependancies of postcss postcss-cli and autoprefixer. No combination seems to change the error.

Please help! Any input is greatly appreciated!

Edit: Was running on an old node version, updating node completely changed the error to a solveable one.