Vega-Lite Shortcode

I’m new to Hugo, and HTML, and trying to create a shortcode to embed Vega-Lite visualisations. I could find two other attempts, both with the same shortcode:

<div id='{{ .Get "id" }}'></div>
<script type="text/javascript">
  var spec = '{{ .Get "spec" }}';
  vegaEmbed('#{{ .Get "id" }}', spec).then(function(result) {
    // TOOD: do something?
  }).catch(console.error);
</script>

Given the identical spelling error, I suspect one copied from the other, and surprisingly there aren’t any other easily locatable examples of doing this. The problem is that neither of them work. The problem seems to be that the HTML is including the path to the spec file instead of its contents, e.g.:

<div id='imdb'></div>
  var spec = '\/docs\/examples\/imdb-histogram.vg.json';
  vegaEmbed('#imdb', spec).then(function(result) {

}).catch(console.error);
</script>

I tried using the information from some of the threads around including a file in the markdown, and came up with this:

{{$spec := .Get "spec"}}
  var spec = {{ $spec  | readFile | safeHTML }}
    // TODO: do something?
  }).catch(console.error);
</script>

but that does the same thing.

Some further research into vega-embed shows that the spec can be a URL, so perhaps it’s the escaping of the ‘/’ in the URL that’s causing a problem?

I feel like I’m flying blind here, and hoping someone can either spot the error or point me towards some examples that are similar so I can adapt them.

According to this, the code should work. I.e., spec is not the content of the JSON file but its location. So you have to make sure that this location is accessible by the webserver and all that.

Given that you do not really provide any information here (“neither of them work” is not really an information, it just says what you perceive), I can’t tell you more. You might want to check in your browser’s dev tools which path the HTML actually contains. And also read and digest the information in the link I posted.