Use Hugo to render content from in-memory Go-Git's billy.Filesystem in bare Git repo

A little bit of context. I am new to go and still not good in debugging stuff after I get the code to compile. This is a learning exercise.

I have Hugo’s stuff in bare Git repository so there is no path to the system directory until it is git-cloned. Go-git clone is much slower than go worktree add --detach which I found the fastest way to get the directory structure needed for Hugo to render the web site.

As Go-git is able to provide me in-memory virtual file system I thought of converting that to afero.Fs and let Hugo render it further.

I got stuck already at the first step of trying to prepare the config and afero Fs for Hugo to render it from the regular directory.

func main() {
aFs := afero.NewBasePathFs(afero.NewOsFs(), "/tmp/barfoo")
cfg, err := config.FromFile(aFs, "config.toml")
if err != nil {
	return
}
osFs := hugofs.Os

cfg.Set("workingDir", "/tmp/barfoo")
l := langs.NewDefaultLanguage(cfg)
cfg.Set("languagesSorted", langs.NewLanguages(l))
fs := hugofs.NewFrom(osFs, cfg)
dd := deps.DepsCfg{}
dd.Fs = fs
dd.Cfg = cfg

sites, err := hugolib.NewHugoSites(dd)
if err != nil {
	log.Fatal("Could not load Hugo site(s)", err)
}
hh := hugolib.BuildCfg{SkipRender: true}
err = sites.Build(hh)
if err != nil {
	log.Fatal("Could not run render", err)
}
for _, p := range sites.Pages() {
	fmt.Println(p)
}
}

This is the last iteration I ended up with. There were few which compiled and looked more elegant (fewer lines of code). This one compiles too but than crashes in the runtime with this error message:
panic: runtime error: invalid memory address or nil pointer dereference

and in the rest of the log I can see it comes from afero complaining from here:

github.com/spf13/afero@v1.5.1/basepath.go:183