The use of baseof

Hi everyone,
Newbie here!

I am attempting to convert an existing website to Hugo – so I can get away from a CMS. I was thinking that since all the css, js, images and html already exist I didn’t really need to use a Template from Hugo. Also I didn’t need to create a template. And I would just use YouTube to get up to speed.

I have been able to create two pages of my site. I put both of them in “content” and ran “hugo server -D” - it worked. But I realize the I was repeating the header (a navbar) and a footer in both of the files.

So, I re-watched Mike Dane’s video on “baseof”. But it does not work – at least the way I set it up.

So can someone provide a different link on how to create the ‘baseof” file – recall that I am doing this without the use of a template. Or provide some code or structure that will help me get this done.

I’m sure I’m just missing something important but everything I have tried just doesn’t work. I did search the questions and found a couple entries but not much help.

Is it possible I have to create a Template?

BTW – maybe you can setup a newbie (beginner) questions section. It would help guys like me I’m sure.

Johnf

Hi there,

Short answer: you probably do need to create a template.

Long answer:

1. Generally speaking, you need content files and layout (ie template) files. The content files are, well, the contents (ie text, images, etc) and the layout files tell Hugo how to arrange this information to output a page. Content = eggs, milk, flour; Layout = recipe; Website = pancakes.

2. It’s generally easier to get help here for specific questions when we can see your code. Have a read about Requesting Help for some more details. We don’t really know what you’ve tried and how you’ve done it, so it’s difficult to say what you should do to fix it.

3. We have a list of helpful resources here: Recommended Reading Reference

Thanks - I will start reading the recommended reading.