[SOLVED] Switch case in templates + using local shortcode variables with Scratch

Is there a Go switch-case syntax that can be used in Hugo templates and shortcodes in place of multiple if-else conditions?

In Hugo there is also with that is more terse.

I’m new to Hugo and Go in general, but I’m not sure with is exactly what I want: I want my shortcode to behave differently depending on a value of a shortcode parameter that can have several alternative values, and there are instances where I also want to configure a default behavior. If I understand your intention correctly, using with I can write something like this:

{{ $type := .Get 0 }}

{{ with (eq $type "A") }}
{ end }}
{{ with (eq $type "B") }}
{{ end }}

That works but it’s not exactly a switch case like in other languages, and I’m not sure it’s simpler or cleaner than using multiple if-else clauses. The advantage of if-else compared to this with implementation is that (a) The processing will stop when any of the conditions evaluates to true, which is more efficient. (b) It inherently supports a default-behavior alternative, while with would require additional code for that. Or am I missing something here?

Thanks

From the docs:

with
An alternative way of writing “if” and then referencing the same value is to use “with” instead. with rebinds the context . within its scope, and skips the block if the variable is absent.

In my opinion it’s much cleaner than writing multiple if/else or isset statements.

You can read more regarding Hugo conditionals over here: Templating | Hugo

EDIT
Regarding default behaviour Hugo has a pipeline for that. See here: Functions | Hugo

In Go templates there are if, if else and else, but no switch.