<section<h#></h#>...</section> scheme not possible even with .Scratch and a counter

Hi,
I’m new to the likes of global variables and counters.
I try to implement a <section><h#>sfsfs</h#>Chapter</section> layout, for instance to give a different background to chapters with specific headings.
What I want is one Page-level variable which I would rewrite, like a counter, to signify how deep on the heading tree we are. Then I would add $dept - .Level </section> closing tags, before reducing the counter of that much.
I think of using:

{{range ((index (Scratch.Get "closing_tags") 1) - .Level)}}
</section>
{{end}}
{{$scratch.Set "closing_tags" ((index (Scratch.Get "closing_tags") 1) - .Level)}}
<section id="{{ .Anchor | safeURL }}">
	<h{{ .Level }}>
	  <a class=heading href="#{{ .Anchor | safeURL }}">{{ .Text | safeHTML }}</a>
	</h{{ .Level }}>

and at the start of baseof.html:

{{ $scratch.Set “closing_tags” 0 }}

Problem is it can’t work with the last closing tags after the last paragraph, because the footnotes (more accurately called endnotes on a webpage) are part of .Content, I can’t put anything between them and the last paragraph.

Hugo doesn’t facilitate that very common layout, if it allows it all.
I hope one day we’ll have detachable footnotes (.Endnotes) not part of .Content., to keep total control of our layout. What if I want them in a sidebar for instance ?

Perhaps CSS counters help. Though I’m not sure that I understood what you’re after.

No css counters don’t work, I need to edit the html, meaning, using partials.

I want the text to be divided by section tags like this:

<section>
    <h1>h1 In a section></h1>
    <section>
      <h2>h2 in a nested section</h2>
      <section>
        <h3>h3 doubly nested in two sections</h3>
        text in subchapter
      </section>
      <section>
        <h3>h3 doubly nested in two sections</h3>
        text in subchapter
      </section>
    </section>
  </section>