[Resolved]How to make submenu in config.toml?

Hi, I’m new to hugo, I try to produce a sub Menu in main menu but failed, googled but didn’t find the answer.

Hereby is my settings in config.toml:

[[menu.main]]
name = “Our Teas”
identifier = “ourteas”
url = “/categories/”
weight = 100
hasChildren = true

[[menu.main]]
name = “Black tea”
parent = “ourteas”
identifier = “blacktea”
url = “/categories/black-tea/”

Try giving your 2nd menu a different name.

Thanks, I changed name = “Black tea” into “Black” but didn’t work.

What I meant is that you shouldn’t use
[[menu.main]] twice.

Thanks for the note, changed to [[menu.sub]] but didn’t work too:

[[menu.sub]]
name = “Black tea”
parent = “ourteas”
identifier = “blacktea”
url = “/categories/black-tea/”

Tried [[menu.main.sub]] and didn’t work too. also can’t find a hint from the Hugo documents.

What you have originally looks correct. I’m setting a site up now with something similar. What is not working? Can you show your menu template code.

Let me expand a little now that I’m off my phone. Marking the menu up with the sub menu set with its Parent to be the identifier of the Parent menu, is correct. Next it comes down to your implementation of how to make that work. How are you weaving together your css, js, and Hugo template code?

The code in the links below, with:

{{ $currentPage := . }}
    {{ range .Site.Menus.main }}
      {{ if .HasChildren }}
        <li class="{{ if $currentPage.HasMenuCurrent "main" . }}active{{ end }}">
          <a href="#">
            {{ .Pre }}
            <span>{{ .Name }}</span>
          </a>
          <ul class="sub-menu">
            {{ range .Children }}

… works, but you need to adapt it to the choices you make in terms of css/js framework.

I am using theme named Casper Two, I did’t change the default css or js, to make it work, should I?