Render string as template

I’m relatively new to Hugo so apologies if I’m using the vocabulary wrong.

Is there a way to take a string and render it to the page as a template using a supplied context? Let’s say I have a YAML file that is structured like the following:

---
struct:
  entry_title: "{{ .name }} - {{ .city }}, {{ state }}"
  entry_type: "school"
school:
  - name: "University of Arizona"
    city: "Tucson"
    state: "AZ"

I want to be able to do something like this:

{{ $struct := .struct }}
{{ range (index . $struct.entry_type) }}
    <p class="entry title">{{ $struct.entry_title | renderString . }}</p>
{{ end }}

I have a bunch of data that needs to be laid out similarly but have pieces of it composed differently that I’d like to dynamically define via YAML. Perhaps I’m approaching this the wrong way though.

I would do it differently.

But first, we have:

• .RenderString (which renders the given string, including shortcodes, in the context and format of the Page (typically Markdown)
  • resources.ExecuteAsTemplate parses and executes the given string with the given context.

You could use the last one for you purpose, but I suspect you will be much more happy by

• Keeping the data in front matter
  • Do all layout work in the template (e.g. single.html)

Note that it’s not uncommon to have some formatting in the front matter “data”, e.g. Markdown, so

school:
  - name: "University of **Arizona**"

Would in template be used as:

{{ .Params.school.name | .RenderString }}

I did try to use this but was unable to make it work. As far as I can tell it wants to create a resource file and needs a target path.

I’m also not sure if markdown will achieve my goals. I’m not looking for just dynamic formatting but also being able to dynamically control the structure of the data in my front matter.

But to be fair this is also probably the wrong place to be doing it.