Permalinks not working, converting jupyter notebooks to hugo blog posts

Hi there.

I’ve been banging my head on the same issue for 3 or so days now and I figured it might make sense to ask for some help. I am by no means a Hugo expert so please bear with me if I say things that seem silly in the eye of you experts.

The problem I’m running into: my permalinks are not working (throwing a 404).

Full code can be found here

• The content directory can be found here
  • The autogenerated index.html can be found here

What I want to achieve:

• Write jupyter notebooks and put them in the content/ folder organised by directory (ex. content/creating-data/notebook.ipynb)
  • Convert them to markdown/jekyll with running python make.py && python generate-html.py
  • Run hugo server and view index.html

Which should look something like this

But if I click on the link it gives me a 404 error.

This is what the markdown file looks like including it’s front matter.

---
layout: page
title: Loading_scikit_learn_iris_datset
permalink: /Loading_scikit_learn_iris_datset
---

# Loading scikit-learn Iris dataset

This is how I try to link to the page

{{ $section := site.GetPage "creating-data" }}
                    {{ range $section.RegularPagesRecursive }}
                    <ul>
                      <li>
                          <a href="{{.Permalink}}">{{.Title}}</a>
                       </li>
                    </ul>

What am I doing wrong? Please let me know if I need to give any additional information.

Kind regards,
Rainymood

This question has been asked many many times in the past.

Please search the forum about setting a baseURL with a subdirectory.

Also see the second bullet point of this section in the Hugo Themes README.

1 Like

Hi, thank you for the quick reply.