Noob's mental model broken - wiki-like links?

I’ve never used hugo before, but I just tried a quick POC converting a dokuwiki, and I think I have a misunderstanding of some basic hugo concept.

Say I have a directory guide/ and in there I have guide1.md and guide2.md. I would expect to link (in guide1) to guide2 with something like this:
[See Guide Two](guide2)

Instead, that links to guide1/guide2. I end up using (/guide/guide2) to actually link to guide2.

I have read some hugo docs and tried ref and relref, but I think I’m missing something.

I don’t know how Dokuwiki links work, so cannot comment on how to get a similar behaviour in Hugo.

But from how I understand relative links in Hugo, you can indeed use the ref and relref shortcodes for that.

If you don’t use custom permalinks, but Hugo render permalinks based on the structure of your /content/ folder, that looks like:

{{< relref "guide/guide2.md"  >}} -> /guide/guide2/
{{< ref "guide/guide2.md" >}}  -> http://www.example.com/guide/guide2/

There’s more information on the links and cross references page, which from what I understand you already saw.

I’d be the first to say that relref and ref probably don’t help you much, since they still require considerable typing. It’s probably just as easy to create regular Markdown links like so: [see guide for more](/guide/guide2/).

I unfortunately don’t know of a way to get quicker/shorter links in Hugo for quick note-taking.

Hope this helps.

I guess, my real question is, why does a link to “guide2” in guide1.md link to “guide1/guide2” ? Given my wiki experience, that’s weird to me, but it seems to make perfect sense to hugo people, and I would like to understand why.

If I understand you correctly, then it’s caused by how you organised your content.

I guess based on your descriptions that you organised your files like so:

/content/
    /guide/
        /guide2.md