New user confused by the current state of the theme ecosystem

I am new to hugo (but familiar with programming) and have some specific and some general queries. If anything reads funny, please assume error on my part.

The quick start guide mentions using git submodules for theme management. That’s great!

But if you read just a bit enough past surface level, you run into some info about modules. It seems modules are a big part of the hugo ecosystem.

So, a somewhat open ended question: Between git sub-modules and go modules, is one or the other better way to manage themes? What are their respective trade-offs? Does the quick start guide prefer git submodules for theme management over go modules because the former has an easier learning curve? Seems like a pesky question but it looks like static site generation will be a fairly involved part of my day job for the near future and I am trying to build a foundation of tools and methods that are better supported and sustainable for the medium term future.

On the topic of theme management, I tried to play with a few themes using both git and go. And saw the following outcomes:

Ananke

Using git

Commands used

git init

git submodule add https://github.com/theNewDynamic/gohugo-theme-ananke.git themes/ananke

echo "theme = 'ananke'" >> hugo.toml

hugo serve

outcome: Works!

Using go

commands used

hugo mod init www.sample.com

echo `theme = ["github.com/theNewDynamic/gohugo-theme-ananke"]` >> config.toml

hugo mod get -u

Paper-mod

using git

commands used

git init

git submodule add https://github.com/adityatelange/hugo-PaperMod.git themes/papermod

echo "theme = 'papermod'" >> hugo.toml

hugo serve

using go

echo `theme = ["https://github.com/adityatelange/hugo-PaperMod.git"]` >> config.toml

hugo mod get -u

outcome : Failed :frowning:

error

go: no module dependencies to download

go: added github.com/adityatelange/hugo-PaperMod v0.0.0-20240308054840-b5f7118d826e

hugo: collected modules in 658 ms