Moving sub pages from one top level menu to another

I wonder if someone could tell me if what I am trying to do is possible, and if it is possible, point me in the right direction within the documentation? I am still very new to Hugo and SSG’s in general, so please forgive me asking about what may be a very simple issue.

I am hoping to build a site using Hugo the content of which will be edited by non technical people using the Netlify CMS.

A key requirement is to be able to move sub pages from one top level menu item to another.
ie: domain.com/dogs-looking-for-homes/jack-01 would move to domain.com/happy-endings/jack-01 when Jack has been adopted.

Using a database driven CMS (in my case MODX) the page can be dragged from one container to another in order to achieve the desired result.

As I understand it Hugo expects the arrangement of the source documents to match the final site structure. If I were working directly with the source files I would be able to move them from one location to another and presumably this would have the desired effect.

However, as far as I can tell, the Netlify CMS does not provide the ability to move files.

So I am wondering if there is a way of governing which top level menu a page appears under using data within the page itself, or if anyone could suggest another way I could do this?

You can do so if you use aliases and manual URLs.

I don’t suggest it, though. No one likes that: search engines, people, site maintainers. The URL itself doesn’t really matter, just that it stays the same. But that’s all I’ll advocate, you came looking for an answer, not a lecture. :slight_smile:

Thank you @maiki for the link, and the thoughts on urls! I’ll will read up on aliases.

This was a way to do it in your CMS, but that restraint no longer exists, so let’s consider what you are trying to do: make a profile stop showing at one section and start showing at the other. Okay, is that because those URLs are listings?