Markdown Issue

Even after specifying the format in Content / **.md as shown below in 2 ways, I still can’t see the bullet options.

• First bullet
  • Second bullet
  • Third way

I am new to hugo and understanding the aspects . Does this got any relation to the way the html file is laid down . Its referenced as single.html in my themes ( Is that an Issue ?

I thought I answered this question, but now checking back I don’t see my answer. So I think I might have had a stroke :wink: or maybe just went into troll lingo…

I don’t understand your question. Mostly because you refer to “as shown below” and then I can’t connect anything of the below to the “specifying the format”…

First I thought “they are writing a list in a markdown file that is not displayed properly”. In this case make sure you have EMPTY lines before and after your list.

# something else
<-- empty line
- First bullet
- Second bullet
- Third way
<-- another empty line

Then I read html file and thought “they are trying to add markdown syntax to a template file”…

That’s not possible. Markdown belongs into the markdown files.

Then I read “single.html” and thought “maybe they are missing the .Content part of their template file”.

If you have your own file /layouts/single.html then they need to have a {{ .Content }} in there somewhere to display the contents of the markdown file.

Whatever it is, please post a public repository where we can check your issue and a more clear explanation of the issue.

I really appreciate your response. really excited for the support. My problem is my markdown file does not show bullets even after i specify the below options in my markdown file in content folder.

• Red
  • Green

my question is this issue due to my html page layout thats called from the default theme

{{ with .Content }}

<div class="work-single-content">

{{ . }}

</div>

{{ end }}

That’s unusual code. Any reason you’re using with and not…

<div class="work-single-content">
    {{ .Content }}
</div>