Links behaving mysteriously on resume theme

First of all, I am quite new to hugo, html, css et cetera so I apologize if my language is not correct, but I promise I did as much homework as possible before asking this question.

I am building a website on hugo with the resume theme, and I have run into an issue with links to different sections of the page. The resume theme produces a single page with several sections, and shows links on the top of the screen to all of the different sections. When I run the website on localhost using the hugo server command, clicking on any of these links gives me back a 404 page not found error. I also have the website hosted at mat.univie.ac.at/~chandler, (which is the baseURL in my config.toml file in hugo) and when I click on the links here, they take me to the base mat.univie.ac.at/ instead of the different sections of the page.

When I was originally creating the site, the baseURL was set to examplesite dot com in the config.toml file. It was not until I changed this that I started experiencing these problems. I figured the issue was that there were other instances of ‘examplesite dot com’ somewhere else in the source files that should be changed as well, but I am unable to find such an instance.

Unfortunately I find that the documentation for the resume theme gives no insights into this issue (at least as far as I can tell). Does anybody have any ideas what might be going on?

Here is a link to the hugo files on github to build the website: https://github.com/alexchandler100/resumesite

Some other possibly related issues: (1) my favicon is not showing up (2) when I visit my website on chrome, it displays correctly, but on firefox the theme and display look completely wrong.

Your repo seems incomplete. The layouts/index.html file is loading partials, but the layouts/partials folder seems to be missing.