Hugo vs Astro vs NextJs - which one is better for content-focused website?

Hello,

When it comes to content-focused websites, which one is better: Hugo, Astro or NextJs?

First of all, I am not a developer and my knowledge on this subject is limited.

According to the information available in Astro’s documentation, Astro is best suited for content-focused websites while NextJs is more appropriate for more dynamic and complex websites.

As a non-developer, I’m curious to know why someone would choose Astro over Hugo for a content-focused website (Hugo is easy to learn and use. Also written in Go ) and if someone has a preference for JavaScript, why choose Astro over NextJs (NextJs also have the option for creating Static Site)?

Thank you.

You cannot have the right answer to your question. You need to do your research and try on your own.

I recently read a post about SSG where @bwintx mentioned that he is picking between Eleventy and Hugo.

What was great was short summary:

• If you’re really into JavaScript (or want to be), go with Eleventy. You’ll be much more comfortable there.
  • If you want maximum speed in development mode, go with the staggeringly fast Hugo. Be prepared to get comfortable with its wonky templating, however.

Read more here:

I tried a couple of SSGs before I settled with Hugo, as this framework nicely fits into my knowledge and area, where I can learn further about what I like, not necessarily what I need.

4 Likes

I’ve been trying lots of the new ways to make a website. I had a quick look and try with astro.

Does the content include a lot of images for blog posts?

Images in page bundles much better than astro where images go in /src/ or /public/ (similar to assets and static folders in hugo)
Anything where I have to put all my images together is a hard fail on content organisation for myself as a photographer with image heavy posts and a professional as well as personal blogs.

next.js, if this is current practice: