How to display a particular nested section differently

Hello everyone,
I’m new to hugo and the content of my site has a couple of sections. I decided to include subsections to one of these new sections. I wanted to ask how to target a particular section to display a particular partial. Looking at what we have below I want the page to be displayed differently when in the blockchain subsection. The various pages in the subsection should be listed differently from how they are listed out when we are in the first-level sections. I want to use an if statement to target these particular sections to have them display differently but I think I am missing something because I keep getting errors. Please how do I achieve this?

1 Like

Do you mean “a particular template” instead?

Do you mean “displayed differently” instead?

I am trying to figure out whether you want to render things differently on list pages, or on content pages, or both.

It would be easier to help you if you were to share your code. See:
https://discourse.gohugo.io/t/requesting-help/9132

Let us see your code

Include a link to the source code repository of your project, because we really need the context of seeing your templates and partials to be able to help you. It is trivial to do a quick git clone on your repo, then run hugo server in your project, to help you out. On the other hand, recreating your code from screenshots, or sort of guessing at it, is not.

If you can’t share your repository for whatever reason, consider creating a dummy repo that you can share, which reproduces the problem you’re experiencing.

I think your simples approach would be to set a specific type using cascade to match the sub section and all its pages and then create layout file(s) for that below /layouts/mytype.

1 Like