How to add a class attribute to a menu item?

I’d very much like to add a class to a menu item, but it seems it’s not supported, either. Is there a chance that the menu system could allow more attributes such as class? Thank you!

Hello,

You can conditionally assign a class to a menu item directly in a template. Or use any of the menu configuration variables (like for example .Name) to assign a class through the project config or a content file’s front matter.

Also see: https://gohugo.io/templates/menu-templates/#readout

1 Like

Thank you! That’s exactly what I have been doing for a few years in some of my themes, e.g., https://github.com/yihui/hugo-prose/blob/87eb62b0ed8d2515e6088e179879e3f010053c50/layouts/partials/header.html#L23-L27

{{ range .Site.Menus.main }}
  <li{{ if .Identifier }} class="optional"{{ end }}>
    <a href="{{ .URL }}>{{ .Name }}</a>
  </li>
  {{ end }}

But the hack looks awkward. In the above case, I add a class optional when the identifier is given, but that’s not what identifier is supposed to mean. I’d like to use the otherwise obvious option .Classs, e.g.,

{{ range .Site.Menus.main }}
  <li class="{{ .Class }}">
    <a href="{{ .URL }}>{{ .Name }}</a>
  </li>
  {{ end }}

instead of hacking at the limited number of existing variables.

For the purpose of CSS styling, the class would be much more useful than identifier, so I wish it could be supported in the future.

This is a new feature request.

May I suggest that you open a new issue with the Proposal tag at: https://github.com/gohugoio/hugo/issues

To backup your request I also suggest that you explain your use case.

1 Like

Can I weigh in here? People always ask “how can I add SOMETHING_I_LIKE to the menu as class” and that is the wrong approach imho :wink: Why not saying: Create a proper navigation template and use the lowercased identifier of the menu point to apply a class.

class="{{ .Identifier | lower }}