How do I display tags next to date in post?

I’m still very new to Hugo so I might just get my terms mixed. Let me explain what I want first.

On my blog, when you open a post (single.html template) there’s the <h1> title, followed by <time> that displays the time by 2006-01-02 format. Right next to the time, I’d like to have a list of the tags for this post.

The posts are tags in frontmatter tags = [“tag1”, “tag2”]
in config.tmol I do have [taxonomies] and under it tags=“tags”

in single.html I have this:
<h1>{{ .Title }}</h1> <time datetime={{ .Date.Format "2006-01-02T15:04:05Z0700" }} class="post-date">{{ .Date.Format "2006-01-02" }}</time>

What would be the Hugo syntax to add a list of tags right next to the date?

Hi,

The docs has some examples: https://gohugo.io/templates/taxonomy-templates/#example-list-tags-in-a-single-page-template

1 Like

Thanks,

still don’t understand what i’m looking at. Here’s the whole single.html as I have it now (taken from hyde originally):

{{ define "main" -}}
{{ $taxo := "tags" }}
<div class="post">
  <ul id="{{ $taxo }}">
  <h1>{{ .Title }}</h1>
  <time datetime={{ .Date.Format "2006-01-02T15:04:05Z0700" }} class="post-date">{{ .Date.Format "2006-01-02" }}</time><li><a href="{{ .Permalink }}">{{ $taxo }}</a></li>
  {{ .Content }}
</div>
{{ if .Site.DisqusShortname -}}
<hr>
<h2>Comments</h2>
{{ template "_internal/disqus.html" . }}
{{- end }}
{{- end }}

this results in just “tags” link at the top of my post, because the code literally says $taxo is tags, but there’s nothing using the tags of the post. from this link, I’m not sure what this part is.

Well, you are only printing out $taxo in your snippet, which in this case has been set as "tags". The example I linked to has a few more lines of code involved. I would suggest you try out the whole snippet to see what that gives you. The range part in the example is what iterates over the tags.

it gives an error.