Feature Request - Option to Separate Front Matter and Content into Different Files

I have been using Hugo for several years, our company uses it for about half a dozen websites and also internally for QA. Thank you for your work.

One of the annoying niggles I do have with it is that because the front matter is embedded in the content file it is more complex to programatically manipulate the content and also a lot of markdown plugins don’t display markdown files properly due to the front matter.

My proposal is for front matter to optionally be stored in a separate toml/yaml/json file which has the same name as the .md file just with a different file extension. If no front matter file is supplied then hugo can just assume that the front matter is supplied in the .md file as has always been the case.

This will make for easier manipulation/generation of both front matter and content.

For example:

• content/index.md
  • content/index.yml
  • content/about/index.md
  • content/about/index.yml
  • content/support.md
  • content/support.yml
1 Like

Well, it’s called frontmatter because it’s in the front of the file. What you probably want is some kind of system that retrieves files in the data directory based on the filename or some key in the frontmatter of the markdown file in question. Other than that I don’t see why something that was born to be together has to get a feature to get separated. Your case is a very specific creation and IDE display issue, not a feature. I would even say IDEs should start supporting Hugo-Markdown files rather than changing Hugo.

Thinking a little more about it: I have cases where I moved JSON files into a page package. Have a look at how I integrated data files into the Hugo newsletter:

Build a template, that loads the data.json or frontmatter.json file from the folder where the .md file resides and load the info from there and use in your templates.

1 Like