Error building site: TOCSS-Dart

Hi!

I’m new to Hugo and looking to develop a site from scratch (not using a prebuilt theme) to learn the ins and outs of Hugo. However, I’ve already hit a hurdle. I read that Hugo is using libsass but of course this is now outdated so was looking to set up dartsass going forward. I’ve added a sass folder with main.scss to the assets folder. The following code has been added to my head

{{ $opts := dict "transpiler" "dartsass" "targetPath" "css/style.css" }}
    {{ with resources.Get "sass/main.scss" | toCSS $opts | minify | fingerprint }}
      <link rel="stylesheet" href="{{ .RelPermalink }}" integrity="{{ .Data.Integrity }}" crossorigin="anonymous">
    {{ end }}

Running Hugo server produced the following error:
Error: error building site: TOCSS-DART: failed to transform “sass/main.scss” (text/x-scss): got unexpected EOF when executing “sass”. The user running hugo must have read and execute permissions on this program. With execute permissions only, this error is thrown.

I’ve checked my permissions -rwxr-xr-x 1 xxxxx staff 418 Oct 26 1985 …/lib/node_modules/sass/sass.js and there correct it seems.

Any help would be appreciated, really want to get going with Hugo but this is currently putting me off.

Are you able to view Dart Sass by hugo env ?

Hi @panchtatvam

I get the following

hugo v0.122.0-b9a03bd59d5f71a529acb3e33f995e0ef332b3aa+extended darwin/amd64 BuildDate=2024-01-26T15:54:24Z VendorInfo=brew
GOOS="darwin"
GOARCH="amd64"
GOVERSION="go1.21.6"
sass --embedded is unavailable in pure JS mode.
github.com/sass/libsass="3.6.5"
github.com/webmproject/libwebp="v1.3.2

Dart Sass should have been a listed transpiler . What method did you use for Dart Sass installation ?
It seems Hugo is unable to find Dart Sass.

The error message refers to a program, not to a .js file. See the dartsass intro:

OTOH, if you’re not using all of SASS’s features, perhaps CSS is sufficient?

Installed dart ages ago.