Custom Markdown Containers

I recently started using hugo as a static site generator. So far it has been a very good experience but there is one thing that I am missing.

I use pandoc quite frequently for md → tex → pdf conversion. Pandoc markdown gives me the ability to use custom container syntax like this:

::: environment
Hello World
:::

This syntax will be turned into (using my lua filter):

\begin{environment}
Hello World
\end{environment}

I was wondering if something similiar was achievable in hugo when converting from markdown to html, with the environment being the class of a div:

<div class="environment">
Hello World
</div>

Since the ::: container syntax is not native to goldmark, markdown render hooks won’t be able to solve this issue (and if there are any).

The only other option I have found is replaceRE, which I wasn’t able to set up properly.

Since I am quite new to hugo I am interested in possible solutions to this problem.

Ideally, I would like to be able to configure short forms for the environment names. For example, thm → theorem. I was thinking that one could add a yaml file to the data directory containing the short form as a key and long form as a value, like so:

thm: theorem
def: definition
prb: problem

Nesting would also be great.

I think that this extension to goldmark’s built in syntax would allow for a lot of flexibility. Adding this container syntax to goldmark itself would allow for even more flexibility, considering the possibility of adding a markdown render hook for containers.

You have two options:

1. Shortcodes
  2. Code fences with render hooks

The last option is probably closest to standart Markdown.

Both should be fairly well documented.

Thanks for the fast reply.

Shortcodes are not really an option to me because of their syntax.