Community help to confirm my website module is configured properly

I’m very new at Hugo, so I spent some time reading the documentation, prior opening this thread.

I have a very specific website design, with what I call projects. Currently I have /docs and /k3s-cluster projects in my repository, both using the same hextra theme. Basically, the website module I created stores the common elements of each project, allowing me to avoid settings and related code duplication. Due to the unique nature of each project, I cannot merge everything into a single directory. For example, the menu related settings are specific to each project.

This is how I implemented the website module:

• Create /go.mod and /hugo.yaml at repository root, as well the other theme common elements, like i18n and layouts.
  • Into /docs/hugo.yaml configuration, insert the module imports:
module:
  hugoVersion:
    extended: true
    min: 0.125.0
  imports:
    - path: github.com/axivo/website
    - path: github.com/imfing/hextra
  • Run hugo --gc --minify -s ./docs from repository root, to validate the site is created properly, which will also update /docs/go.mod and /docs/go.sum with correct module versions.

The reason I started this thread is because prior creating the website module, the hextra theme was functioning properly, while preserving the duplicated code in each project directory. Now, certain theme elements are not rendered correctly, which makes me believe I missed something into my website module configuration.

Please see PR sample to replicate the issues locally, if desired. Switch to feature/tutorials branch, start the server and visit the Tutorials page to notice two broken shortcodes, out of seven used:

cd docs
hugo server --buildDrafts --disableFastRender --logLevel debug

For reference, I created also an issue into theme repository.

I actually need some documentation clarification how modules are combined. With the following configuration files structure:

β”œβ”€β”€ docs