Can't get a very simple menu to work

Hi, I’m new to Hugo, and trying to build a very simple site with a “Home” page and a section “News” with blog posts. I want to have a menu with these two options and highlight the active menu section, but after hours of reading the docs and examples still can’t get this to work, and I don’t understand why.
In my config.yaml I have the following:

menu:
    main:
    - name: Home
      pageRef: / 
    - name: News
      pageRef: /News

And in my header.html this template code:

<ul>
    {{ $currentpage := . }}
    {{ range site.Menus.main }}
    <li><a {{ if $currentpage.IsMenuCurrent "main" . }}class="active"{{ end }} href="{{ .Url }}">{{ .Name }} (from Menus.main)</a></li>
    {{ end }}
</ul>

However none of the two menu items is shown with class “active”… what am I doing wrong?
Any tips on how to go about debugging this?
Thanks in advance

Which version of Hugo?

hugo version
hugo v0.96.0-2fd4a7d3d6845e75f8b8ae3a2a7bd91438967bbb linux/amd64 BuildDate=2022-03-26T09:15:58Z VendorInfo=gohugoio

Thanks

PS By the way, I see I crossed variables, in the config.yaml I have PageRef, in the template it’s Url. This is because I was trying both (as I see both in the documentation and forum posts, which is also confusing to me). I’ve switched everything back to PageRef.

So, this:

href="{{ .Url }}"

should be this:

href="{{ .URL }}"

Other than that, can you describe what’s not working?

The URL’s work, but the class="active" never gets applied. So somehow I’m not completely understanding what $currentPage.isMenuCurrent "main" . is doing - is it doing some kind of object comparison, should I change the menu entries in config.yml, etc? (How does it determine true or false, since it seems to come out as false always?)

When I use your menu entries in site config, and your code, the active class is applied when visiting the home page and the news list page.

Did you expect something different?