Can you *set* page variables, etc. in go templates, etc

I see the ability to create new local variables and Scratch variables, but what I was hoping to do was check to see if a page level Param variable existed, and if not go ahead and create it one of my theme templates before calling an internal template which uses that variable.

More specifically, I was hoping to check to see if a post’s disqus_url was set, and build a new default if not.

So that’s the initial question, and if answered, I’ll know more than I do now and that’ll come in handy even though I expect my actual scenario for wanting to do this in this particular case is, well, dumb.

I fully expect one answer to be something to the effect of, “Um, why would you do this?”

The answer to that mostly is because I’m new to Hugo and don’t know any better, and that there’s a huge mess of not understood junk cluttering what the real solution to the original problem is. On the off chance that someone actually wants to tackle any of that, here’s the situation.

I am messing around with Hugo and making a new site, which I’m looking at locally with Hugo server, and wish to be able to view internal to my lan by various readers across various devices. After that, I’m pushing it to gitlab and using their typical pages CI workflow to deploy it there. I’m also looking at netlify and have it set up to deploy there on a push to gitlab. Yeah, probably excessive but one of the main reasons for any of this was trying out different generators, workflows, hosts, services, etc.

So, based on the above, I have some deploys with the baseURL being relative, some with it being a subdir on a host (gitlab/github project pages for example), some with it being at the root of the host (gitlab/github user/org pages, netlify, etc.).