Bootstrap theme is complete via 'hugo serve' but incomplete via s3 hosting

While I write plenty of documentation and build/administer servers (of the unix variety) for a living, I am not a web developer. Creating content is one thing, but making it pretty is quite another. I was thrilled when I found hugo - I am a minimalist of sorts, always looking for the simpler/smaller/faster ways to do things, and the idea of a static site based on pure text content and stitched together with a single command very much appeals to me.

After building hugo from source in a chroot on my chromebook, I was able to create a new site and a couple of posts. After looking through a few of the available themes i settled on the bootstrap theme because i liked the idea of seeing word counts and estimated time to read, as well as the tag/category stuff. So I copied the example config.toml into place, disabled disqus, renamed the site and author, and generated the site. what i see with ‘hugo serve’ looks great - but when copying ./public to the webhost, theme elements appear to be missing. Before digging into differences in html and css, which I am not looking forward to, I wanted to ask:

1. is there a known issue with the bootstrap theme
  2. what are possible reasons for pages being different when published versus ‘hugo serve’ ?

I’m certain I’m not the first to bump into this, and am hoping not to have to retrace the steps of others …

Thanks!

Remember to set baseURL in config.toml.

I’ve done that. And I have found that, at least with this particular theme, if the baseURL does not end in a slash, links are rendered incorrectly. This may be covered in the documentation and I missed it, but in the end the published version fails to render properly with or without the appended slash in baseURL.

Then that is a bug with that particular theme, and it would be good if you reported it on the theme’s issue tracker.