Assign content to multiple sections

hi all,

i’m new to hugo/go and trying to use hugo as a small cms replacement. i’ve played arround with menus, taxonomies and terms to achieve two “simple” things, but wasn’t successfull.

first goal, place content in multiple sections/navigation:

for example asume the following site structure:

- sports
  - events
   - 2017-football.md (content with pictures)

- pictures
   - sportevents
    - 2017-football.md (same content as under /sports/events/)

it should be possible to reach 2017-football through multiple navigation paths:

/sports/events/

and

/pictures/2017/sportevents/

with menus only it’s not possible (with my skills), with taxonomies etc. i’m not able to build a working sidebar navigation.

this leads me to a second/similar “organisational” problem:

- pictures
  - sportevents
  - hillclimbing
  - diving

pictures should contain all post’s from subdirectories, 2017 should contain all posts’s from 2017 subdirectories and so on.

so my question is, is it possible to get this kind of content assingment working without a huge bunch of programming, e.g. build lists for every section, configure every menu in config.toml etc. (i’m not a good programmer) ?

the structure is almost static, so an initial big work wouldn’t be a problem.

thanks for your input!

Well… Regarding your first problem about assigning content to multiple sections -as you put it- this is not very straightforward in Hugo.

There are two options

1. Go by the book.
    If you read the Docs you’ll see that the way to do this is through the use of taxonomies and then create multiple layouts for different lists and use .GetPage in your templates. This the safe and future proofed version.

2. Don’t follow the rules.