Newbie here trying to set up songs website

Hi guys, I’m a newbie to Hugo and it’s still very tricky for me.

I created the html files already and now I’m trying to implement this setup:

content
_index.md [main page with new songs]

-> top-songs
  -> _index.md

-> artist
  -> lady-gaga
    -> _index.md
    -> just-dance.md
    -> poker-face.md
  -> taylor-swift
    -> _index.md
    -> love-story.md
    -> shake-it-off.md

_index.md of each artist:

---
    title: "Taylor Swift"
    slug: "/songs/taylor-swift/"
    extrainfo: "American singer"
    ---

song.md:

---
title: "Shake It Off"
categories: [Taylor Swift]
slug: "/taylor-swift-shake-it-off/"

draft: false
mainwebsitepage: true
date: 2020-03-17T04:05:00Z
lastmod: 2020-03-17T04:05:00Z

youtubeid: "nfWlot6h_JM"

album: "1989"
songwriters: "Taylor Swift, Max Martin and Shellback"
---

song.html [simplified]

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html lang="en-US">
<head>
<title>Taylor Swift - Shake It Off</title>
</head>
<body>
March 17, 2020
<p>This Taylor Swift song named "Shake It Off" is a track from the album "1989" and written by Taylor Swift, Max Martin and Shellback.</p>
<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/nfWlot6h_JM"></iframe>
</body>
</html>

I think “artist” is the taxonomy, the “artist name” the term and the “song” the value.

I’m having a hard time setting this up properly with the right archetypes and config.toml. Also no idea how to set up the files in the “layouts folder” …

I really hope you guys can help me… :slight_smile:

Welcome on the forum! :wave:

Hugo has a ‘lookup order’ (see here) that says which template file from ‘layouts’ is used to render which page.

I understand from your post that you make your own theme? In that case it requires a bit of tweaking and experimentation to figure out what a nice setup for the templates is.